
1% Constitutional Property Tax
Cap: Background Briefing



California & Prop. 13

• Set off by a run up in assessed 
values

• Limited property taxes to 1% of the 
assessed value 

• Growth in assessed value is capped 
at 2% annually 

Prop. 13 Passed with 62.6% of the 
vote



Prop. 13 Starts a Wave

In November 1978 a 
group called “Citizens for 
Tax Relief” filed notice to 
circulate initiative petitions 
to bring a 1980 
constitutional amendment constitutional amendment 
to the ballot in Arizona 
--- referred to as 
“Arizona’s Proposition 13”



Arizona Reacts

• Governor Babbitt called a 
special session of the 34th

Legislature in November 
1979

• A total of six tax reform • A total of six tax reform 
measures, a bill calling for 
a special election, and 10 
ballot referenda were 
passed before the special 
session adjourned sine 
die on April 3, 1980



Constitutional Changes

• On June 3, 1980 voters 
approved 10 constitutional 
changes:
• Prop. 100, 101, 102, & 103: 

added and adjusted exemptions 
for widows, widowers, veterans, 
and persons with disabilities

• Prop. 104: adjusted the limit on • Prop. 104: adjusted the limit on 
bonded indebtedness for local 
jurisdictions

• Prop. 105: clarified provisions 
related to the state expenditure 
limit

• Prop. 106: placed a 1% cap on 
residential properties

• Prop. 107: levy limits for local 
governments

• Prop. 108 & 109: adds 
expenditures limits for local 
governments



1% Cap Overview: Pre-2016

The amount of primary property tax that may be levied on a     
Class 03 residential property is limited to 1% of the property value

Example
For the purposes of primary property taxes:
• A home has an assessed value of $100,000
• Class 03 carries a 10% assessment ratio• Class 03 carries a 10% assessment ratio
• The home’s Net Assessed Value (NAV) is $10,000
• The 1% constitutional cap mean the home can only pay $1,000 (1% of 

$100,000) in taxes
• Tax rates are always per $100 NAV
• The maximum “effective” rate a property can pay is $10 per $100 NAV



1% Cap Overview: Pre-2016 Cont.

Example
For the purposes of primary 
property taxes:

The “effective” tax rate is the rate paid after any adjustments pursuant to:
• A.R.S. § 15-971, Equalization Assistance
• A.R.S. § 15-972(B), Homeowners’ Rebate

Jurisdiction Adopted 
Primary

Effective 
Primary property taxes:

• School District A’s adopted rate 
is $4.00

• 15-971 reduces the rate to 
$3.50

• 15-972(B) reduces the rate to 
$2.70

• The new “effective” school 
district rate is $2.70

County $3.00 $3.00

City $3.00 $3.00

CCD $3.00 $3.00

State $0.50 $0.50

School Dist. $4.00 $2.70

Total $13.50 $12.20

NOTE: All figures are used for the example only and do not reflect actual rates or tax burdens



1% Cap Overview: Pre-2016 Cont.
If the effective tax rate is still greater than $10, the state reduces the 
school district rate through an additional payment until the total effective 
rate is $10 pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-972(E) Example

Using the effective rates to the 
left:
• A home has an assessed value 

of $100,000

Jurisdiction Adopted 
Primary

Effective 
Primary

After 
1%

County $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 of $100,000
• The rate reduction under the 1% 

cap is $2.20 
• The state will pay an additional 

$220 to the school district
• The new “effective” school 

district rate is $0.50

City $3.00 $3.00 $3.00

CCD $3.00 $3.00 $3.00

State $0.50 $0.50 $0.50

School Dist. $4.00 $2.70 $0.50

Total $13.50 $12.20 $10.00

NOTE: All figures are used for the example only and do not reflect actual rates or tax burdens



1% Cap Overview: Pre-2016 Cont.

Estimated Cost to the State from 1% Backfill

2,192% Increase

1Arizona Tax Research Association. (2009). Arizona School Finance. Phoenix, AZ: Olson, J
2Joint Legislative Budget Committee. (2015). FY 2016 Baseline Book (Pg. 161). Phoenix, AZ



FY 2016 Executive Proposal

• Cap the State’s Liability at $1 million per County

• Shift the remaining liability to the local jurisdictions (county, cities & 
towns, community college, and school districts)

• The liability would be allocated based on a jurisdiction’s share of the 
total tax rate Example

Total 1% Liability: $1,500,000 Primary rate Liability Above 1%
County $3.00 $125,000 reduction
City $3.00 $125,000 reduction
Comm. College $1.50 $62,500 reduction
Elementary SD1 $2.00 $83,333 reduction
High School SD1 $2.00 $83,333 reduction
State $0.50 $1,020,834 payment
Total Rate $12.00

1School district 
rate after making 
adjustments 
pursuant to A.R.S. 
§ 15-971 & 
§ 15-972(B)

NOTE: All figures are used for the example only and do not reflect actual rates or tax burdens



FY 2016 Budget: CSA Interpretation
• Laws 2015 Chapter 15 § 7 (SB 1476) added paragraph (K) to            

A.R.S § 15-972
• Paragraph (K) caps the state’s 1% liability at $1 million per county and 

shifts any remaining liability to [qualified] local jurisdictions
• The liability is then proportionally allocated to each [qualified] jurisdiction 

based on that jurisdiction’s rate compared to the sum of all [qualified] 
jurisdictions rates

Total 1% Liability: $1,500,000 Primary rate Qualified
jurisdictions

Liability Above
1%

County  avg: $2.00 $3.00 $3.00 $333,333 reduction
City   avg:$3.50 $3.00 $0 No reduction
Comm. College   avg:$1.30 $1.50 $1.50 $166,667 reduction
Elementary SD1 Not included $2.00 $0 No reduction
High School SD1Not included $2.00 $0 No reduction
State Not included $0.50 $0 $1,000,000

payment
Total Rate $12.00 $4.50

1School district 
rate after making 
adjustments 
pursuant to A.R.S. 
§ 15-971 & 
§ 15-972(B)

NOTE: All figures are used for the example only and do not reflect actual rates or tax burdens


